Former Inter-Agency Task Force on Disaster Reduction
Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction - Functions and responsibilities - Membership - Working groups - Discussion groups -Meeting records
 Working Group:
Climate Change and
 Disaster Risk Reduction
Finished 2005
 Working Group:
Disaster Reduction
 in Africa
 Working Group:
 Working Group 3:
 Risk,  Vulnerability &
 Disaster  Impact
Finished 2003
 Working Group 1:
 Climate and Disasters
 Working Group 2:
 Early Warning
 Working Group 4:
 Wildland Fires; Wildland
 Fire Advisory Group
 (since 2004
Working Group:
Climate Change and
Disaster Risk Reduction

Reports to IATF/DR
11th meeting
24-26 May 2005
10th meeting
7-8 October 2004
For more information see Meeting Records

Working Group on Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction

At its ninth session, the Task Force appointed a new working group on climate change and disaster risk reduction, to be co-chaired by UNDP and WMO. Its timeliness and importance were noted, as well as the work already underway among some stakeholders.

The WG was recognized as a key opportunity to share information between the disaster reduction and climate change communities, supported by the ISDR Secretariat (see also UN GA resolution 58/215 on Natural disasters and vulnerability).

The Working Group’s timeframe is 2004-2005. Within this period the following activity areas have been identified for the Working Group:

  • Facilitate a process of consultations to develop a policy paper on adaptation to climate change, disaster reduction and sustainable development.
  • Prepare a systematic inventory of regional, national and where possible sub-national initiatives that aim at building capacities for adaptation to changing climate extremes.
  • Make recommendations at the IATF12 to strengthen the integration between adaptation to climate change and disaster reduction at policy, program-design and operational levels through existing institutional mechanisms.

UNDP and WMO, with the support of the ISDR secretariat, developed the terms of reference and the first meeting of the group was held on 6 October 2004.

Contact persons
UNDP (co-chair):
Kamal Kishore [email protected]
WMO (co-chair):
Buruhani Nyenzi [email protected]
Maryam Golnaraghi [email protected]
Amir Delju [email protected]
ISDR Secretariat:
Reid Basher [email protected]
John Harding [email protected]
Silvi Llosa [email protected]


Institution Name e-mail
ADPC A.R. Subbiah [email protected]
IGAD Climate Prediction and
Applications Centre (ICPAC)

Laban Ogallo [email protected]
[email protected]
IFRC Madeleen Helmer [email protected]
SOPAC Russell Howorth [email protected]
Tearfund Sarah La Trobe [email protected]
UNDP Isabelle Pistone [email protected]
UNEP Otto Simonett [email protected]
UNFCCC Henning Wuester [email protected]
UNU Katherina Thywissen [email protected]
WHO Carlos Corvalan [email protected]
World Bank Frank Sperling [email protected]


Name e-mail
Francisco Szekely [email protected]
Glenn Dolcemascolo [email protected]
Marcus Moench [email protected]