This country is covered by UNDRR's Asia and Pacific office.

This risk profile is currently being updated with new data from the 2013 Global Risk Update.
India has focal point(s) for  
Sendai Framework

Focal Points

Sendai Framework

Ministry of Home Affairs (India) (MHA)

Phone: +91 112 343 8096 +91 991 039 1422

Hyogo Framework for Action

Disaster Management Division Ministry of Home Affairs Government of India

Contact: Joint Secretary
Phone: +91 11 234 38087

Back to top

Institutional Structure / National Platform Description

Details on the National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction

a) National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction - India

b) Disaster Management Division, Ministry of Home Affairs, 3rd Floor, ‘A‘ Wing, NDCC Building, Jai Sing Road, New Delhi

c) The National Platform is comprised of members as listed in Annexure I of G.R.No.43-31/2012-DM-III dated 26th February, 2013 (as below)

d) Joint Secretary (DM), Disaster Management Division, Ministry of Home Affairs, 3rd Floor, ‘A‘ Wing, NDCC Building, Jai Sing Road, New Delhi, email:

e) The multi-stakeholder National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction has been established by the Government of India vide G.R.No.43-31/2012-DM-III dated 26th February, 2013. The First Session of the National Platform for DRR is scheduled to be held on 13-14 May, 2013, in New Delhi.

Composition title: Annexure I of G.R.No.43-31/2012-DM-III dated 26th February, 2013

Composition of the National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR)

1. Chairperson: The Union Home Minister

2. Vice Chairperson: Vice-Chairman, National Disaster Management Authority

3. Representatives of the Government of India

i. Minister of Defence
ii. Minister of Finance
iii. Minister of External Affairs
iv. Minister of Agriculture
v. Minister of Human Resource Development
vi. Minister of Health & Family Welfare
vii. Minister of Urban Development
viii. Minister of Rural Development
ix. Minister of Environment & Forest
x. Minister of Water Resources
xi. Minister of Science & Technology
xii. Minister of Earth Sciences
xiii. Minister of Women & Child Development
xiv. Minister of Mines
xv. Minister of Panchayati Raj
xvi. Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission

4. Representatives of State Governments & Union Territories Administrations: Minister of each State Government /Union Territory dealing with the subject Disaster Management

5. Representatives of Local Self Governments

i. Mayors of Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai
ii. Five Chairpersons of Urban Local bodies (To be nominated by Ministry of Urban Development)
iii. Five representatives of Panchayat Raj Institutions (To be nominated by Ministry of Panchayat Raj)

6. Representatives from Parliament

i. Four members of Parliament from Lok Sabha (To be nominated by the Speaker)
ii. Two members of Parliament from Rajya Sabha (To be nominated by the Chairperson)

7. Ex-Officio Members

i. Union Home Secretary
ii. Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy
iii. Chairman, ISRO
iv. Chairman, UGC
v. Chairman, Railway Board
vi. Chairman, National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)
vii. Chairman, Building Material & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC)
viii. Chairman, Central Water Commission
ix. Chairman, Insurance Regulatory & Development Authority
x. Secretary, National Disaster Management Authority
xi. Director General, NDRF & CD
xii. Director General, Civil Aviation
xiii. Director General, Defence Research & Development Organization
xiv. DG, Indian Meteorological Department
xv. DG, Geological Survey of India

8. Heads of Institutions of National Importance

i. Director, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun
ii. Director, GAIL Training Institute, Noida
iii. Director, Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee
iv. Director, National Centre for Oceanic Information Services, Hyderabad
v. Director, Centre for Snow and Avalanche Study Establishment, Chandigarh
vi. Director, National Fire Service College, Nagpur
vii. Director, National Civil Defence College, Nagpur
viii. Chief Controller of Explosive, Nagpur under Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion, New Delhi
ix. Executive Director, National Institute of Disaster Management, New Delhi
x. Executive Director, Building Materials and Technology Promotion Council

9. Persons representing industry

i. Director General, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industries, New Delhi.
ii. President, Confederation of Indian Industry, New Delhi.
iii. President, Associated Chamber of Commerce and Industry, New Delhi.

10. Media representatives

i. Chief Executive Officer, Prasar Bharti
ii. Principal Director General, Press Information Bureau
iii. Chairman, Press Trust of India
iv. Representative of Times of India
v. Representative of NDTV
vi. Representative of Hindustan

11. Representatives of Civil Society Organizations

i. Rama Krishna Mission, Kolkata
ii. Indian Red Cross Society, New Delhi
iii. SEEDS India, New Delhi
iv. Sphere India, New Delhi

12. International Representatives

i. UN Resident Coordinator, New Delhi
ii. UNDP Country Director, New Delhi
iii. Representative of UNISDR
iv. Country Director, World Bank
v. Representative of Asian Development Bank

13. Convenor: Secretary (Border Management), Ministry of Home Affairs

Back to top

HFA Progress Reports

Back to top

Other Policy, Plans & Statements

Policy & Plans

Official Statements & Presentations

Other Development Reports

View all on PreventionWeb Back to top

Country Information

1.2 billion
GDP 2007:
712.6 billion USD

UNDRR Asia and Pacific

7th Floor Secretariat Building UN ESCAP Complex 76 Rajadamnern Nok Ave
Bangkok, Thailand

Phone: +66 02288 2745

Our sub-regional offices