South Africa

This country is covered by UNISDR's Africa office.

This risk profile is currently being updated with new data from the 2013 Global Risk Update.
South Africa has a National Platform

Focal Points

National Platform, Hyogo Framework for Action

Department of Water Affairs and Forestry (DWAF)

Contact: Deputy Director Veldfires Regulation
Phone: 012 334 0404 0828845541

Back to top

Institutional Structure / National Platform Description


The NDMAF is a Technical Forum, established by the Minister for Provincial and Local Government in terms of section 5 of the Disaster Management Act No. 57 of 2002. The Forum is a body in which national, provincial and local government and other disaster management role-players consult one another and co-ordinate their actions on matters relating to disaster management. The Forum must make recommendations concerning the national disaster management framework to the Intergovernmental Committee on Disaster Management (ICDM – political Forum), and may advise any organ of state, statutory functionary, non-governmental organization or community or the private sector on any matter relating to disaster management. The NDMAF meets on a quarterly basis and is chaired by the Head of the National Disaster Management Centre.


The NDMAF is comprised of representatives of the following institutions:

-NDMC in the dplg (Head of the Centre is the Chairperson)
-Department of Agriculture
-Department of Communications
-Department of Defence
-Department of Education
-Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism
-Department of Foreign Affairs
-Department of Health
-Department of Home Affairs
-Department of Housing
-Department of Land Affairs
-Department of Minerals and Energy
-National House of Traditional Leaders
-National Treasury
-Department of Public Works
-Department of Public Enterprises
-SA Police Service
-SA Weather Service
-Department of Science and Technology
-Department of Social Development
-Statistics South Africa
-Department of Transport
-Department of Water Affairs and Forestry [Water]
-Department of Water Affairs and Forestry [Veld and Forest]
-SA Jewish Board of Deputies
-Chamber of Mines of South Africa
-Council for Geoscience
-Development Bank of Southern Africa
-Disaster Management Institute of Southern Africa
-National African Farmers Union SA
-National Nuclear Regulator
-Rand Water Board
-South Africa Emergency Services Institution (SAESI)
-Salvation Army
-South Africa Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
-South African Civil Aviation Authority
-South African Council of Churches
-South African Insurance Association (SAIA)
-South African National Roads Agency Ltd
-Order of St Johns
-South African Local Government Association(SALGA)
-SA Red Cross Society
-Transnet Freight Rail
-The SA National Roads Agency
-Water Research Commission
-The Head of the Disaster Manager of each of the nine Provinces


Back to top

HFA Progress Reports

Back to top

Other Policy, Plans & Statements

View all on PreventionWeb Back to top

Country Information

48.6 million
GDP 2007:
171.7 billion USD


United Nations Complex
Block N
Level 2
PO Box 47074
Nairobi, Kenya

Phone: +254 207626719
Fax: +254 207620336
[email protected]