3rd LCP Philippine cities global convention and exposition

Type: Meeting or Conference

Organizer(s): League of Cities of the Phillippines

Date: 17-19 Nov 2011

Location: Resorts World, Pasay City (Philippines)


  • Description

  • In the 3rd Philippine Cities Global Convention and Exposition, LCP re-examined the inclusive character of cities as the main overarching theme. The theme was Bridging Cities, Transforming Lives.

    The main objective of the 3rd Philippine Cities Global Convention and Exposition 2011 was to increase the knowledge of city governments on inclusive urban development through the conduct of a knowledge exchange system among city stakeholders, both national and foreign.

    For the first time, LCP opened invite to its international counterparts and cities across the globe to discuss cross cutting urban development challenges and initiate long-term partnerships. Moreover, the Convention also seeked to achieve the following:

    • Showcase what Philippine cities offer such as tourism destinations and events, one town one product, services, good governance practices, and culture;

    • Promote Philippine cities as investment haven through the exposition to boost local economic development to further generate more business opportunities and employment;

    • Foster cooperation among cities in the Philippines with other cities through networking activities;

    • Strengthen inter-governmental cooperation in planning and implementation of development programs;

    • Promote stronger partnership between city governments and the private sector; and

    • Share innovative and sustainable solutions to common urban issues and challenges, such as poverty, unemployment, traffic congestion, environmental degradation, and impacts of climate change among others.

    36 cities signed up to the new ‘Making Cities Resilient: My City is Getting Ready’ campaign:

    1. Alaminos
    2. Bago
    3. Batangas
    3. Bislig
    4. Cadiz
    5. Calbayog
    6. Cavite
    7. Cebu
    8. Dagupan
    9. Koronadal
    10. Ligao, Albay
    11. Mandue
    12. Navotas
    13. Olongapo
    14. Ormoc
    15. Palayan
    16. Quezon
    17. Samal
    18. San Pablo
    19. Sta. Rosa, Laguna
    20. Tabaco, Albay
    21. Tacurong
    22. Tagbilaran
    23. Talisay(Neg.Occ)
    24. Trece Martirez
    25. Valenzuela
    26. Bacolod    
    27. Gapan
    28. Calamba   
    29. Bais 
    30. Angeles
    31. Tangub     
    32. Dipolog
    33. San Jose (Nueva Ecija)
    34. San Fernando, Pampanga
    35. Surigao 
    36. Silay