Ministerial Sessions

The three Ministerial sessions will consist of Ministers in charge of Disaster Risk Management or Head of Delegation of Asia-Pacific member countries. All country Head of delegates with at least 1-2 supporting country delegation members are expected to be present in each Ministerial Session. Ministerial Session serves as a forum for Ministers/Heads of Delegations to deliver their Ministerial Statements. Given the unique nature of the AMCDRR 2016 which is the first AMCDRR after the adoption of the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction, it is recommended that Ministerial Statements, in addition to country specific issues, may include the reflection on Sendai Framework implementation to date and immediate priorities towards implementation and monitoring of the same.

The Ministerial Session will be chaired by the Minister in charge of Disaster Risk Management and co-chaired by another Minister or Head of Delegation. The Head of Delegation of countries will deliver their statement within maximum 5 Minutes. The speaking sequence will be based on alphabetical order by country name and by seniority.

The focal point from the UNISDR for all the Ministerial Sessions is **Ms. Ana Christina Thorlund** (Email: <u>thorlund@un.org</u>). All country delegations are requested to send a copy of their statement to her prior to the ministerial session and seek any guidance related to the session.